About Scouting

Cub Scouts are an introductory program, offering citizenship, character, personal fitness, and leadership for youth in grades K to 5. We’re all about encouraging boys and girls to make friends, be helpful to others, and do their very best no matter the outcome. With the help of powerful learning projects and exciting outdoor activities, we aim to teach children that doing their best can be a fun and rewarding experience—no matter the difficulty of the challenge.

The Cub Scout program is separated into three main categories

1. The Advancement Trail

On the advancement trail, a Cub Scout progresses towards a badge of rank based on their grade.


  • Lion Den = Kindergarten
  • Tiger Den = 1st grade
  • Wolf Den = 2nd
  • Bear Den = 3rd
  • Webelos 1 Den = 4th 
  • Arrow of Light Den = 5th

They need not have earned the previous rank in order to earn the next.  Each of the ranks in Cub Scouting has its own requirements that are age appropriate, so earning a rank below a Cub Scout’s current grade is not permitted. As a Cub Scout advances through the ranks, the requirements get more challenging, to match the new skills and abilities they have learned.  See the graphic below for more information on the Advancement Trail or visit the Official Cub Scout website here.


2. Scouting Adventures

Cub Scouts earn adventures that are specific to their grade and rank.  A number of adventures must be completed to earn the badge of rank for each grade level. Adventures may be earned in any order.  Completion of adventures is how the aims of character, citizenship, leadership, and personal fitness are developed.  See the graphic above for more information on the specific adventures required to earn each rank.  More info can be found here

3. Scouting Awards

Cub Scouts can earn other awards in addition to their badge of rank, such as the NOVA award or the Cub Scout Outdoor Activity Award.  For a full list, visit this Cub Scout page.